WhatsApp has now introduced the “view once” feature that competitors have had for a long time. But atechbook has identified a huge weakness that makes the feature almost unusable.
At the beginning of July, WhatsApp tested the “View once” feature. Now the feature has made it into the final version and is available to all users. The feature is supposed to increase security and works according to a simple principle: If a picture or a video is opened once, the message is automatically deleted after viewing. atechbook explains what decisive disadvantage the function has.
“View once” function for pictures and videos
In order for photo or video to delete themselves later on, they have to be sent via a new icon. After the successful update, a circled “1” should appear in the media upload. If you tap on this, you can send the picture or video in “View once” mode. A preview does not appear directly in the chat, but you have to tap on it first, just like on Instagram or Snapchat. As the name suggests, this works exactly once.
Also interesting: WhatsApp hammer! Mark Zuckerberg confirms two new functions
Function better implemented by other messengers
The “View once” function of WhatsApp has a crucial weakness, which unfortunately makes it almost useless in the end. Namely, there is no screenshot or screen capture detection on the messenger. While Snapchat notifies you when someone screenshots a photo or records a video of the screen content, this mechanism is missing on WhatsApp. We therefore do not see any benefit of the function, especially when it comes to pictures. atechbook advises anyone who uses the function not to rely on the fact that the pictures and videos do not end up permanently on the other person’s smartphone.
Also interesting: 4 alternatives to WhatsApp and Telegram
WhatsApp needs to improve!
We are a bit surprised that WhatsApp is already rolling out the “view once” function. atechbook would have liked WhatsApp to implement the feature of your screenshot. Say, if the other person takes a screenshot, you should at least get a message. As it is implemented now, it can give users a false sense of security.